Kevin Ayers (Soft Machine, from: The Soft machine, 1968, Kevin Ayers - bass,vocals, Mike Ratledge - organ, Robert Wyatt - drums, vocals

Why are we sleeping ?
Texte: Ayers


It begins with a blessing
It ends with a kiss
Making life easy
by making it worse
People are watching
people who stare
waiting for something
That's already there
My head is a nightclub
with glasses of wine
The customers dancing
or just making time
My mask is my master
The trumpeter weeps
But his voice is too weak
as he speaks through his sleep
Tomorrow I'll find it
the trumpeter screams
and remembers he's hungry
and drowns in his dreams
While David is cursing
the customers scream
Now everyone's shouting:
Get out of my dream !
Why, why, why are we sleeping ? Why, why, why are we sleeping ?  


Zuletzt überarbeitet 15.02.2004   Copyright 2003 bei und den Künstlern. E-Mail: b222 at